Dear World,

How are you? I know you feel sick a lot. There are many things going on around you that make me sick sometimes too. I’m not talking about ecological sickness or anything like that, but that can be nausiating too. I’m talking about the things I can’t understand, the people who hurt each other for no good reason, emotionally and physically. It just doesn’t make sense that anyone who respects themself in the least could hurt someone else.

Anyways, it has come to my attention recently that you are much larger than I previously thought. Take, for instance, Tchad. I’ve been living in Tchad for about 8 months now, but all of my painfully aquired knowledge is based in the town of Moundou in the south of Tchad. What’s with that? I’m still learning new things about the city, I notice something new almost every day, so how can I say that I’ve lived in Tchad, or Africa, or the World when I only know tiny pockets of people and places?

You’re a big place World, sometimes I need to be reminded how big so that I can see the diversity that makes you beautiful.

Your humble pilgrim,

Dan